16 Ibadan Students get club’s scholarship

Ten students of Ibadan origin received bursary/scholarship award from the prestigious Oluyole Club of Lagos to assist with their studies.

The number of students who were selected from the 11 Local Government Areas in Ibadanland swelled to 16 when Prof Jide Owoeye , Pro-Chancellor, Lead City University, offered bursary awards to six more students on behalf of the Club.

The scholarship was presented during the launch of the book, “Oluyole Club and the Socio-Economic Development of Ibadanland”, at the Lekan Are Hall of Kakanfo Inn Conference Centre, Ring Road, Ibadan.

The book was edited by Prof Olukunle Iyanda and Prof Adeniyi Is into gun, president of the club.

Osuntogun, a former Vice Chancellor of the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, said the decision to award scholarhsip was informed by the desire to ease the burden on parents to finance the education of their wards.
He said the club started the bursary award some 15 years ago.

“We give it annually.  The students have to be performing because we reckoned that a performing student should be supported.  Initially we started with about N50,000 as bursary.

  As you heard during the launch, we have been supported now by the Proprietor and Pro-Chancellor of Lead City University, saying that they give six candidates free tuition for their course which is a plus to support what we have started,” he said.

Oyewole Olutayo Michael, a student of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) who spoke on behalf of the recipients, expressed gratitude to the founders of the Club for creating the platform to help students from poor homes.

“We are very happy that we benefited from the indigenous scholarship award from the Oluyole Club Lagos and it is good that there is a platform like this to help students that have some financial problems to aide their education and we also say a big thank you to the founders of the Oluyole Club Lagos”, he said.

The colourful occasion was attended by eminent indigenes of Ibadanland including Balogun of Ibadanland, High Chief Akinloye Olakuleyin; Chairman of the Occasion, Chief Bode Amoo represented by Chief Lekan Are; Chief Adebayo Akande , represented by Director of News, Splash FM Mr Tunde Olawuwo, Prof Bola Osuntogun , Ambassador Olu Saanu; Prof and Mrs Bashir Akande; Chief Ajibola Ogunsola; and Prof Afolabi Oladapo.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: